Phi Theta Kappa Inducts New Members

Thirty-seven new members were recently inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society at Piedmont Technical College. Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 to honor two-year college students and boasts more than 1,200 chapters today. The Carolinas region includes 75 active chapters in the two-state area. Piedmont Tech’s Omega Chi chapter became the first among South Carolina’s technical colleges in 1974.

New members from Abbeville County are Carson Dula of Abbeville; Terri Hembree and Aria Thomas of Calhoun Falls; and Brittany Magaha and Bobby Suit of Honea Path.

Joining the group from Edgefield County is Jasmine Culbreath of Johnston.

Greenwood County members include Ella Brown, Brian Clark, Joseph-Robert Fisher, Asha Gilliam, Lanina Goode, Akiba Griffin, Anne Hyde, William Nickles, David Roddy and Sumner Sorrow, all of Greenwood; Bobbi Booraem and Cheryl Scruggs, both of Hodges; and Erin Fricks of Ware Shoals.

Laurens County representatives are Brantley Nelson and Cameo Nelson, both of Clinton; Melissa Franks of Gray Court; Sharon Courchesne, Tami Goettsch and Patina Jones, all of Laurens; and Donald Pearson Jr. of Ware Shoals.

The McCormick County representative is Sylvia Smith of McCormick.

New members from Newberry County are Robin Rubin of Cross Hill; Vickie Stockman of Little Mountain; and Lane Branham, Celia Kellogg and Quanesha Rikard, all of Newberry.

Representing Saluda County is Stephen Coleman of Saluda.

Members from outside the college’s seven-county support area are Michelle Bowyer, Delando Clark, Matthew Colling and Sabrina Hicks.