PTC Students Honored for Excellence

May 2, 2019

Piedmont Technical College (PTC) recently honored the achievements of more than 40 conscientious student leaders at its 45th Annual Student Awards and Recognition Program.

PTC President Dr. Ray Brooks welcomed students, faculty, staff, friends and family members to the ceremony on April 24 at the James Medford Family Event Center in Greenwood. David Rosenbaum, associate dean of students, then asked PTC’s Presidential Ambassadors to rise and be recognized for their invaluable leadership over the current academic year.

President’s Award

Dr. Brooks presented PTC’s most prestigious honor, the President’s Award, to Reginald White of Greenwood, a PTC Presidential Ambassador and recipient of the 2019 Divisional Distinguished Student Award for the Business, Information Technologies and Public Service Division. A graduate of Ninety Six High School, White is the hands-on parent of a son, Ryan, 10, and an avid community volunteer. After seeing the powerful difference social workers and counselors make in the lives of vulnerable families, White knew human services was the major he wanted to pursue.

Divisional Distinguished Student Awards

Each academic division of the college every year honors its top graduates with the Distinguished Student Award. This year’s winners are:  Arts and Sciences, Téyanna Mathis of Greenwood; Business, Information Technologies and Public Service, Reginald White of Greenwood; Health Care, Alayjah Davis of Calhoun Falls; and Engineering and Industrial Technology, X’Zavion Burns of Plum Branch.

Curriculum Awards

Outstanding graduates in each of the college’s academic programs also received special recognition. In addition to the Divisional Distinguished Students above, PTC recognized the following outstanding graduates (in no particular order):  Katherine Hawthorne of Abbeville, associate degree nursing; Alana Pitts of Whitmire, practical nursing; Samantha Greenberg of Winnsboro, patient care technology; Brianna Trowell of North Augusta, surgical technology; Cody Johnson of Edgefield, cardiovascular technology invasive; Casey Norris of Anderson, cardiovascular technology non-invasive; Cheyanne Wright of Greenwood, medical assisting; Euketha Tolbert of Greenwood, pharmacy technology; Alayjah Davis of Calhoun Falls, radiologic technology; Kayla Cleveland of Edgefield, respiratory care; Christa Ross of Ware Shoals, occupational therapy assistant; Leanne Fischer of Columbia, veterinary technology; Langton Holmes of Ninety Six, engineering design technology; William Free of Ware Shoals, electronic engineering technology; Jason White of Greenwood, mechanical engineering technology; John Day of Ninety Six, automotive technology; Yolanda Moore of Thomson, GA, building construction technology; Rose Linker of Abbeville, diversified agriculture; Samuel Williams of Evans, GA, gunsmithing; Zachary Metts of Honea Path, horticulture; Zach Smith of Parksville, HVAC technology; Michael Hilley of Ninety Six, mechatronics technology; X’Zavion Burns of Plum Branch, machine tool technology; Javier Delafuente of Saluda, welding; Dorothy Holmes of Greenwood, administrative office technology; William Buchanan of Greenwood, computer technology; Noel Johnson of Greenwood, business administration-accounting; Mancel Brewington of Gray Court, early care and education; Alexander Hester of Ninety Six, criminal justice; Keegan Smith of Greenwood, commercial arts; Michelle Freeman of Greenwood, funeral service; Reginald White of Greenwood, human services; Téyanna Mathis of Greenwood, associate in arts; and Judith Caldwell of Newberry, associate in science.

Presidential Ambassadors

PTC’s Presidential Ambassadors for 2018-2019, including their majors, are:  Lula Berry of North Augusta, respiratory care; Alayjah Davis of Calhoun Falls, radiologic technology; Latisia Gilchrist of Greenwood, business administration-accounting; Noel Johnson of Greenwood, business administration-accounting; Heaven Lee of Greenwood, associate in science; Aime Lorick of Saluda, associate degree nursing; Neeley Martin of Newberry, early care and education; Téyanna Mathis of Greenwood, associate in arts; Alicia Middleton of Greenwood, associate in arts; Christopher Rousey of Ware Shoals, building construction technology; Tenisha Sayles of Greenwood, engineering design technology; Zachary Smith of Parksville, HVAC technology; and Reginald White of Greenwood, human services.




  • PTC President’s Award winner Reginald White, right, with PTC President Dr. Ray Brooks
  • PTC Divisional Distinguished Students, from left: Dr. Ray Brooks, Alayjah Davis, Téyanna Mathis, Reginald White, and X’Zavion Burns